Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Department of Chemistry Held 2018 Honors Day

2017 Honors DayDepartment of Chemistry held the 39th annual Honors Day on Thursday, April 26, 2018 to recognize the achievements among students, faculty and staff members of the department. Below, you will find a complete list of awardees this year. Click to view this year’s pictures.


CRC Press General Chemistry Award Ellie L. Lancaster
C. W. Keenan Outstanding General Chemistry Student Award Brice A. Ard
Halbert and Anne Carmichael Scholarship Alexa N. Griffith
Dr. Lucy E. Scroggie Scholarship Ian C. Bennie
C. A. Buehler Chemistry Scholarship Taylor D. Payne
East Tennessee Section, ACS, Award Carolyn E. Barnes
ACS-Hach Land Grant Scholarships Tyler H. Mann and Zachary T. Ward
Melaven-Rhenium Scholarship Wesley N. Cox, Alexa N. Griffith, Isaac W. Haynes, John H. Hymel, and Taylor D. Payne
Honors Chemistry Recognition Acar R. Ary, Andrew A Dixon, Eriko M Gordon, and Adam N. Soper


Outstanding Teaching Awards Kevin A. Smith and Joshua G. Moncada
Keenan Teaching Awards Randi L. Beil
Second Year Candidacy Award Jacob A. Townsend
Graduate Fellowship for Achievement in Inorganic Chemistry Kendall D. Hughey
Jerome Eastham Fellowship in Organic Chemistry Xiaoyu Zhang
Eugene John Barber Fellowship in Physical Chemistry Michael O. Yokosuk
Burchfield Burridge Warner Fellowship in Polymer Chemistry Bryan T. Seymour
East Tennessee Section, ACS, Graduate Fellow Jordan M. Kaiser
Gleb Mamantov Graduate Chemistry Scholar Amber S. Moody
George L. Sivils Graduate Student Award William A. Sheffield


Chancellor’s 2016 Extraordinary Professional Promise Award Justin K. Kirkland and Shelby E. Stavretis
Shull Wollan Center Graduate research Fellowship Shelby E. Stavretis and Fatema Wahida
2018 ORE Summer Graduate Research Fellowship Sabine N. Neal
Winners of the Board of Visitor’s Poster Competition Laura D. Castro and Sara B. Isbil
UTK PEER Graduate Fellowship Awards Avery L. Blockmon, Desiree L. Moore, and Christian E. Zavala
Graduate Recruiting Committee Laura D. Castro and Amber S. Moody
2018 Eastman Summer Grant Laura D. Castro
Fulbright US Student Program Carolyn E. Barnes


Outstanding Service Award Jennifer A. Fleming and Mathew J. Nalepa
Carol Moulton ACGS Service Award Pamela D. Roach
James F. Green ACGS Service Award Eddie (Bo) Bishop


US Department of Energy: Early Career Research Award Dr. Brian Long
2017 American Physical Society Fellow Dr. Jan Musfeldt
NSF Career Award Dr. Sharani Roy
2017 American Chemical Society Fellow Dr. Ziling (Ben) Xue
New Faculty Dr. Johnathan N. Brantley
Retired Dr. John E. Bartmess, Dr. Jeffery D. Kovac, Dr. Jimmy W. Mays, Dr. Michael J. Sepaniak
In Memorian Dr. Earl L. Wehry