Skip to content

Shops

The department has well-staffed shops to support chemistry research, including a machine shop, an electronics shop and a glass-blowing shop.

Electronic Shop

electronic shop personnelThe electronics shop is staffed by three experienced technicians, who maintain and repair research instruments, design and construct novel electronic devices, perform computer support and administer departmental servers.

Buehler Hall 215, (865) 974-3145

Staff:
Jones, Johnny
Murphy, Jim
Nalepa, Matthew

How do I send email to……

Everyone? everyone@ion.chem.utk.edu
Faculty?  (tenured and tenure-track) faculty@ion.chem.utk.edu
Otherfaculty?  (lecturers, research faculty, etc.) otherfaculty@ion.chem.utk.edu
Associates?  (post-doctoral and research associates) associates@ion.chem.utk.edu
Gradstudents? gradstudents@ion.chem.utk.edu
Chemists?  (everyone except staff) chemists@ion.chem.utk.edu
Staff? staff@ion.chem.utk.edu
There are lots of others!  All the lists may be found here: http://ion.chem.utk.edu/mailman/listinfo
Dabney-Buehler building maintenance (Facilities Services staff) repair@ion.chem.utk.edu
List all users on Ion, sorted by last name (The “UID” is the first part of the email address.) https://water.chem.utk.edu/chempeople.php

Machine Shop

Shop personnelThe machine shop includes a state-of-the-art numeric control (CNC) milling machine, a newly acquired Haas ST-20Y and machinists with over 25 years experience in fabricating a wide range of cells and other objects required by researchers.

Buehler Hall 105, (865) 974-5103
Consulting Hours: 8am – 9am, 1pm – 2pm
Staff:
Free, Tim
Hackworth, Dan

Glass-blowing Shop

Our professional glass-blower has over 35 years experience in repairing and fabricating scientific glass items.

Buehler Hall 218, (865) 974-5023
Staff: Bishop, Eddie (Bo)

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.