Skip to content

Recruiting Seminar

2019 Recruiting Slides

To schedule a seminar, please contact our Recruiting, Publicity and Development Coordinator Kayla Benson at (Kayla@utk.edu or 865-974-8019).

University of Tennessee Department of Chemistry Seminars 2019-20

  • Prof. Constance Bailey – Organic Chemistry – cbaile53@utk.edu “Chemical Transformations from Engineered Polyketide Synthases”
  • Prof. Christopher A. Baker – Analytical Chemistry –chris.baker@utk.edu     “Microfluidics and Nanoscale biosensors: small tools for large biological insights”
  • Prof. Craig Barnes – Inorganic Chemistry – cebarnes@utk.edu  “Nanostructured Catalysts: Where Materials Science meets Catalysis”
  • Prof. Michael Best – Organic Chemistry – mdbest@utk.edu “Synthetic Analogs of Cell Surface Ligands for the Study of Disease-Related Biological Processes”
  • Prof. John Brantley – Organic Chemistry – jbrant13@utk.edu “Functional Materials from Reactive Intermediates”
  • Prof. Tessa Calhoun – Analytical Chemistry – trcalhoun@utk.edu “Nonlinear Phenomena at the Edge”
  • Prof. Shawn Campagna – Organic Chemistry – campagna@ion.chem.utk.edu “Look Who’s Talking: The Chemistry of Microbial Communication”
  • Prof. Mark Dadmun – Polymer Chemistry – dad@utk.edu  “New Materials to Expand the Opportunities for 3D Printing
  • Prof. Ampofo Darko – Organic Chemistry – adarko@ion.chem.utk.edu “Principles of Strain in Synthesis and Catalysis”
  • Prof. Charles Feigerle – Physical & Materials Chemistry – feigerle@ion.chem.utk.edu “Chemical Vapor Deposition for Materials Synthesis and Film Growth”        
  • Prof. R.J. Hinde – Physical Chemistry – rhinde@utk.edu “Keeping Cool Under Pressure:  Quantum Monte Carlo Simulations of Compressed Solid Hydrogen and Helium at T = 0 K”
  • Prof. David Jenkins – Inorganic Chemistry – jenkins@ion.chem.utk.edu “Macrocyclic Tetracarbene Ligands for Oxidation Catalysis”
  • Prof. Mike Kilbey – Polymer Chemistry – mkilbey@ion.chem.utk.edu “Polyelectrolyte Brushes:  All Charged Up with Nowhere to Go”
    • Prof. John Larese – Physical Chemistry – jzl@utk.edu“Chemical Studies in Flatland; Probing the Interaction of Molecules on Surfaces”
    • Prof. Brian Long – Polymer Chemistry – long@utk.edu “Development of Highly Efficient CO2 Separation Membranes for Carbon Capture and Sequestration”
  • Prof. Sharani Roy – Computational Chemistry – sharani.roy@utk.edu “Theoretical and computational models of chemistry at surfaces and interfaces”
  • Prof. Alexei Sokolov – Polymer Chemistry – sokolov@utk.edu “Functional Polymeric Materials: from Fundamentals to Applications”
  • Prof. Ziling (Ben) Xue – Inorganic Chemistry – xue@ion.chem.utk.edu “Chemistry of Transition Metal Complexes.  Reaction Pathways and Chemical Analysis”
  • Prof. Bin Zhao – Polymer Chemistry – bzhao@utk.edu 1. “Hairy Nanoparticles: from Synthesis to Behavior and Applications” 2. “Shape-Changing Brush Polymers”

The flagship campus of the University of Tennessee System and partner in the Tennessee Transfer Pathway.