Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Chemistry Department Held 2014 Honors Day

2014 Honors DayChemistry Department held 2014 Honors Day on Thursday, April 24 in Buehler Hall 555. Gerald DeVault, Project Manager for Technology at Y12 Uranium Processing Facility, also an alumnus of the Department, gave an invited speech before the awards ceremony. Following is a list of this year’s awardees.


  • CRC Press General Chemistry Award – Allison S. Poget
  • C. W. Keenan Outstanding General Chemistry Student Award – William C. Hoskins
  • Dr. Lucy E. Scroggie Scholarship – Brittany L. Skyberg
  • C. A. Buehler Chemistry Scholarship – Russell T. Smith
  • East Tennessee Section, ACS, Award – Desta Bume
  • Hach Foundation Scholarship – Madilynn McCollum, Brittany Ramsey
  • Melaven-Rhenium Scholarships – Desta D. Bume, Brittany L. Skyberg, James R. Smith, Russell T. Smith, Benjamin T. White
  • Honors Chemistry Recognition – Christopher R. Barnes, Jack W. Bell, Rebecca E. Fong, Margaux J. Joe, Reagan E. Long,Sahba Seddighi, Donna Vo


  • Outstanding Service Award – Jillian E. Bodenheimer, Sherri H. Dugger
  • Carol Moulton ACGS Service Award – Eddie Farrell Bishop
  • James F. Green ACGS Service Award – James W. Gurley


  • Second Year Candidacy Award – Alexis C. Dale, Samuel I. Mattern-Schain, Nada Mehio
  • Outstanding Teaching Awards – Adam J. Carr, Lena Elenchin, Philip D. Simmons Jr.
  • Keenan Teaching Awards – William C. Anderson
  • Judson Hall Robertson Fellowship in Analytical Chemistry – Jennifer J. Charlton
  • Graduate Fellowship for Achievement in Inorganic Chemistry – Brianna C. Hughes
  • Jerome Eastham Fellowship in Organic Chemistry – Shahrina Alam
  • Eugene John Barber Fellowship in Physical Chemistry – Ashleigh L. Barnes
  • Burchfield Burridge Warner Fellowship in Polymer Chemistry – Fei Fan
  • Gleb Mamantov Graduate Chemistry Scholar – Christopher R. Murdock
  • East Tennessee Section, ACS, Graduate Fellow – Steven A. Cramer
  • NSF Graduate Fellowship – Derek Mull
  • Joint Institute of Neutron Sciences Fellowships – Seth C. Hunter, Brian F. Morgan, Nicholas A. Strange
  • Eastman Chemical Company Fellowship Award – Weiyu Wang (2013); Hobbie Turley (2014)
  • Winners of the Board of Visitor’s Poster Competition – Yundi Gan, Teresa B. Kirchner


  • Joe Johnson Lifetime Service Award – George K. Schweitzer
  • New Faculty – Tessa R. Calhoun
  • Retiring Faculty – T. Ffancon Williams
  • 1100+ Publications – Georges A. Guiochon
  • Gleb Mamantov Professorship in Chemistry – Dr. David Jenkins
  • Ziegler Professor Announcement – Dr. Mark Dadmun

Chancellor’s Honors