Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Chemistry Faculty and Students Recognized at 2016 Chancellor’s Honors Banquet

Shawn Campagna2016 Research and Creative Achievement—Professional Promise – Professor Shawn Campagna

Research and Creative Achievement — Professional Promise awards honor faculty members who are early in their careers for excellence in research, scholarship, and creative achievement.

Shawn Campagna, associate professor of chemistry, pioneered the use of mass spectrometry for the analysis of metabolytes—an area that has application across several disciplines, including biology and agricultural science. With resource support from several UT departments, he built the Biological and Small Molecule Mass Spectrometry Core Facility, a model facility that consists of six mass spectrometers. He was recently awarded funds to purchase a seventh instrument. In just five years, Campagna has attracted more than $5.5 million in funding. His drive and creativity have had a huge impact on multiple departments across the university.

View the full list of 2016 recipients

Sam Rosolina2016 Extraordinary Professional Promise

Sam Rosolina

Extraordinary Professional Promise honors are awarded to undergraduate and graduate students who demonstrate professional promise in teaching, research or other contributions.

View the full list of 2016 recipients

2016 Top Collegiate Scholar Awards

The Top Collegiate Scholar Awards honor undergraduates who exhibit extraordinary scholarship.

Arts and Sciences

  • Aaron Gregory Baer
  • Natalie Christine Blocher
  • Erica Mechelle Davis
  • Lauren Elizabeth DeBusk
  • Desiree Renate Dube
  • Megan Lee Faust
  • Matthew Drury Frieling
  • Kelsey lyssa Fritz
  • Morgan Alexandra Higgins (Chemistry)
  • Christina Namkyung Kihm
  • Anthony Cole Micetich
  • Madeline Shea Stark (Chemistry)
  • Emily Browning Webb
  • Jacob Louis Wessels
  • Wesley Daniel Whisenant

View the full list of 2016 recipients

2016 Extraordinary Academic Achievement

Extraordinary Academic Achievement honors are awarded to undergraduates who exhibit extraordinary scholarship.

Arts and Sciences

  • Victoria Banks
  • Natalie Blocher
  • Erica Davis
  • Desiree Dube
  • Caroline Duer
  • Blake Erickson
  • Megan Faust
  • David Housewright
  • Adam LaClair
  • Cheyanne Leonardo
  • Rachael MacLean
  • Zachery Markland
  • Ryan McDonald
  • Allison Poget (Chemistry)
  • Taylor Thomas
  • Louis Varriano

View the full list of 2016 recipients