Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Chemistry Students, Faculty and Staff Recognized at 2016 Honors Day

2016 Honors DayDepartment of Chemistry held 2016 Honors Day on Thursday, April 28th .  More than 50 students, faculty and staff were recognized for their academic achievements and outstanding services. Dr. Diane Schmidt, alumna and a member of the Department’s Board of Visitors was invited to speak about her career as a chemist for more than 30 years in Procter & Gamble, where she helped develop some well-known products such as Head and Shoulders shampoo. Schmidt also shared her invaluable experience being the 2015 president of the American Chemical Society, the largest scientific society in the world.


CRC Press General Chemistry Award John H. Hymel
C. W. Keenan Outstanding General Chemistry Student Award Alexandra C. Brito
Halbert and Anne Carmichael Scholarship Lauren A. Finney
Dr. Lucy E. Scroggie Scholarship Carolyn E. Barnes
C. A. Buehler Chemistry Scholarship Peymon C. Baghernejad
East Tennessee Section, ACS, Award Madeline S. Stark
Hach Foundation Scholarships Brittany A. Ramsey, Grace C. Wilson
Melaven-Rhenium Scholarship Madeline S. Stark
Honors Chemistry Recognition Rachael E. Barker, Carolyn E. Barnes, Isidora R. Beach, Wesley N. Cox, Katherine L., Krouse, Robert P. Ledbetter, Emily J. Liske, Ingram A. Northern, Ajay J. Patel


Outstanding Teaching Awards Harkiran K. Dhah, Sara B. Isbill
Keenan Teaching Awards Randi L. Beil
Second Year Candidacy Award Kendall D. Hughey, Samantha J. Rinehart
Judson Hall Robertson Fellowship in Analytical Chemistry Brianna R. Watson
Graduate Fellowship for Achievement in Inorganic Chemistry Shelby E. Stavretis
Jerome Eastham Fellowship in Organic Chemistry Lauren A. Brown
Eugene John Barber Fellowship in Physical Chemistry Michael O. Yokosuk
Burchfield Burridge Warner Fellowship in Polymer Chemistry Brian F. Morgan
East Tennessee Section, ACS, Graduate Fellow Xinyi Lu
Gleb Mamantov Graduate Chemistry Scholar Samuel M. Rosolina


Chancellor’s 2016 Extraordinary Professional Promise Award Samuel M. Rosolina
Chancellor’s 2016 Top Collegiate Scholar Award Morgan A. Higgins, Madeline S. Stark
Chancellor’s 2016 Extraordinary Academic Achievement Allison S. Poget
Graduate Student Poster Presentation Award and Societal Impact Award at UTK’s Women in STEM Research Symposium Laura D. Casto
1st Place Oral Presentation Undergraduate at UTK’s Women in STEM Research Symposium Lauren Finney
1st Place Oral Presentation Graduate at UTK’s Women in STEM Research Symposium Ashleigh Barnes
2nd Place Oral Presentation at UTK’s Women in STEM Research Symposium Lena Elenchin
2016 American Chemical Society Summer School on Green Chemistry & Sustainable Energy Roberto A. Federico Perez
Joint Institute for Advanced Materials Fellowship Daniele Paradiso
Eastman Chemical Company Summer Fellowship Bethany M. Aden
Winners of the Board of Visitor’s Poster Competition Lena Elenchin, Xinyi Lu


Outstanding Service Award Eddie F. Bishop III, Deedee D. Wilder
Carol Moulton ACGS Service Award Neal A. Fischer
James F. Green ACGS Service Award Linda C. Sherman


New Faculty Christopher A. Baker, Bhavya Sharma
Retiring Faculty George W. Kabalka
Elected At-large Senator of the Phi Beta Kappa Society Jeffrey D. Kovac
Mortar Board Society Invited Speaker George K. Schweitzer
Fellow of the American Chemical Society Mark Dadmun
Francon Williams Endowed Faculty Award in Chemistry Brian K. Long
Gleb Mamantov Professorship in Chemistry David M. Jenkins
Ziegler Professor Announcement S. Mike Kilbey II
In Memoriam George Pedro “Pete” Smith