Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Department of Chemistry Held 2015 Honors Day

2015 Honors DayDepartment of Chemistry held its 2015 Honors Day on Thursday, April 23 at 3:40 in Buehler Hall 555. Vice Chancellor of Diversity, Rickey Hall, spoke at the event. More than thirty awards were presented to students, faculty and staff. Here is a complete list of awardees. Scroll down to the bottom to view more pictures.


CRC Press General Chemistry Award

Benjamin J. Nehls

C. W. Keenan Outstanding General Chemistry Student Award

Jonathan S. Farmer

Halbert and Anne Carmichael Scholarship

Christina D. Jackson

C. A. Buehler Chemistry Scholarship

Madeline S. Stark

East Tennessee Section, ACS, Award

Russell T. Smith

Hach Foundation Scholarships

Bria A.L. Bannister, Brittany A. Ramsey

Melaven-Rhenium Scholarships

Lauren A. Finney, Anna C. Fraser, Christina D. Jackson, Russell T. Smith, Madeline S. Stark

Honors Chemistry Recognition

Kelly E. Arnholt, Peymon C. Baghernejad, Natalie E. Bennett, Mikayla M. Clark, Samuel A. England,  Jeremiah R. Holt, Adam K. Hubler, Kenneth M. Mathes, Kiersten P. McIntyre, David P. Meehan, Sara A. Stein, Taylor M. Weiskittel, Jonathan B.  White


Outstanding Teaching Awards

Samuel I. Mattern-Schain, Samuel A. Rosolina

Keenan Teaching Award

Michael O. Yokosuk

Second Year Candidacy Awards

Roberto A. Federico Perez, Shelby E. Stavretis

Judson Hall Robertson Fellowship in Analytical Chemistry

Ryan B. Wallace

Graduate Fellowship for Achievement in Inorganic Chemistry

Seth C. Hunter

Jerome Eastham Fellowship in Organic Chemistry

Stephen P. Dearth

Eugene John Barber Fellowship in Physical Chemistry

Nicholas A. Strange

East Tennessee Section, ACS, Graduate Fellow

Kenneth O’Neal

Gleb Mamantov Graduate Chemistry Scholar

Weiyu Wang

Joint Institute for Advanced Materials Fellowship

Daniele Paradiso

Eastman Chemical Company Travel Award

Roberto A. Federico Perez

Winners of the Board of Visitors’ Poster Competition

Andrew J. Binder,  Weiyu Wang


Outstanding Service Awards

Johnny C. Jones, Rhonda E.W. Wallace


New Faculty

Ampofo K. Darko, Sharani Roy

Retiring Faculty

Robert N. Compton, Alan A. Hazari

Joe Johnson Lifetime Service Award

T. Ffrancon Williams

Ffrancon Williams Endowed Faculty Award in Chemistry

Brian K. Long

Gleb Mamantov Professorship in Chemistry

David M. Jenkins

Ziegler Professor Announcement

Janice L. Musfeldt

In Memoriam

Georges A. Guiochon


Fellow of A.A.A.S. (American Association for the Advancement of Science)

John Z. Larese

National School on Neutron and X-ray Scattering

Shelby Stavretis

Synchrotron Radiation School, Sao Paulo Brazil

Kenneth O’Neal, Lena Elenchin

Posthumous Chemistry Degree

Brittany L. Skyberg