Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

News from 2009 and before


Dr. Jeff Kovac publishes book “Refusing War Affirming Peace”
Dr. Jimmy Mays receives 2009 Southern Chemist Award from ACS
Dr. Ben Xue and Julia Abbott publishes paper in JACS
Dr. Hazari publishes book Misconceptions in Chemistry
Dr. Jimmy Mays featured at the inaugural Tennessee Innovation Conference
Dr. Guiochon and two other researchers received award from IACMAG
Dr. Al Hazari featured on WBIR
Dr. Al Hazari’s chemistry magic show to celebrate National Chemistry Week
Dr. Alexei Sokolov named second UT-ORNL Governor’s Chair
Dr. Al Hazari’s book aims to prevent scientific misconceptions
Dr. George Kabalka receives patent recognition from UT Research Foundation
Dr. George Kabalka named AAAS fellow
Dr. Jeff Kovac to direct 2009 Tennessee Science Olympiad
Dr. Bruce Bursten comments on Nobel chemistry winners

2008 and before

Dr. George Schweitzer tours McClung Historical Collection with Northan Ireland minister
Dr. Jeff Kovac receives Chancellor’s Honors Award
Dr. Bruce Bursten elected president of ACS
Dr. David Backer receives funds from UT Research Foundation
Dr. Bruce Bursten featured in C & EN
Dr. Jeff Kovac featured in News Sentinel article ” UT candidate touts value of planning”
Dr. Janice Musfeldt organizes Symposium for Women in Science
Dr. Mark Dadmun featured in Tennssee Today story “UT-ORNL researchers to uncover mysteries of fingerprints”
Chemistry student receives Frederick Bonham Scholarship
Dr. George Schweitzer featured in News Sentinel story
Chemistry student receives Chancellor’s Honors Award
Chemistry student named Neyland Scholar
Chemistry Ph.D program ranked top 80 nationally
Dr. Robert Hinde named U.S. representative on International Chemistry Commission
Dr. Peter Zhang receives National Science Foundation award
Dr. John Larese featured in 2005 Pre-Game showcase
UT names Dr. Bruce Bursten Arts and Sciences Dean
Dr. Mark Dadmun and Dr. Jeff Kovac receive Chancellor’s Honors Award
Chemistry student named Goldwater Scholar
UT and NSF sponsors online chemistry seminars
Dr. Richard Pagni gives out lecture at UT Science Forum
Dr. Kovac featured in Tennessee Today story ” UT wraps up ‘renewed’ governor’s school for sciences”
Dr. Mamantov and Dr. Compton honored at college convocation
Dr. Douglass Gilman honored at Provost’s Banquet
Dr. Jimmy Mays named UT-ORNL distinguished scientist
Dr. Robert Hinde honored at UT Provost’s Banquet
Dr. Clifton Woods named head of UT academic programs
Chemistry major named UTK Top Graduates
Chemistry major earns Holt Scholarship
UT honors Dr. Jeff Kovac as outstanding teacher
Dr. George Kabalka’s research enhances new cancer treatment
Dr Ben Xue receives junior faculty research and creative achievement award
Dr. George Kabalka featured in Tuesday Topics
Several chemistry faculty members honored at Chancellor’s Banquet
Dr. Ben Xue receives NSF award
Department honors outstanding chemistry students