Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Zhao Receives Excellence in Research Award

Each year, Dean Theresa Lee and members of her cabinet, with help from department heads, recognize faculty in the College of Arts and Sciences for their excellence in teaching, research and creative activity, and lifetime achievements.

Due to the ongoing pandemic, however, we were unable to host the annual awards banquet in-person. Each faculty member received a plaque and congratulations from the dean. We posted a video to the college YouTube channel here, which features each faculty award winner.

We seek to recognize faculty members who excel in scholarship and creative activity while also being fully engaged in the other responsibilities of faculty jobs, primarily teaching and service. To this end, the college honors faculty in three stages of their research careers – early, mid, and senior – with awards for excellence in research or creative achievement, as well as honoring a faculty with an award for Distinguished Research Career at UT.

Bin ZhaoBin Zhao is the Paul and Wilma Ziegler Professor in the Department of Chemistry, received a senior career excellence in research award. He has made significant contributions to the field of macromolecular brush materials, from precise synthesis to fundamental understanding and potential applications of surface brushes, polymer brush-grafted particles (hairy particles), and brush polymers. He is widely recognized, nationally and internationally, as one of the leading figures in this field. His work on stimuli-responsive polymers has also received wide attention. Zhao is a dedicated research mentor who seeks to use research opportunities to cultivate scientific reasoning and spirit in his graduate and undergraduate students.

“I am very excited to receive this great honor and recognition from our college” Zhao said. “I look forward to continuing contributing to the research mission of our university in the years ahead.”