Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

Two Chemistry Students Won 2012 EURēCA Awards

EURēCA AwardsThe University of Tennessee’s sixteenth annual Exhibition of Undergraduate Research and Creative Achievement (EURēCA) was held March 28-29 at the Carolyn P. Brown Memorial University Center Ballroom. The event highlights research and creative projects completed by UT Knoxville students in collaboration with a faculty mentor.

Chemistry students Britta Johnson and Andrew Moss won two out of three awards given in the Physical and Earth Sciences division.

Andrew Moss’ winning project entitled Ongoing Synthesis of Galactose Disaccharides for Binding Studies was guided by David Baker, Professor of Chemistry, and Irene Abia, faculty member at the Chemistry & Biochemistry Department of the University of Mississippi, and a recent graduate from Baker’s group.

Working on the project, Moss concentrated on the synthesis of galactose disaccharides for investigation into lectin binding using Atomic Force Microscopy and Förster resonance energy transfer.

Moss was excited for receiving this award. “I have put much effort into my research and enjoyed the opportunity to present it to peers and professors.” Moss was also very grateful for the help from Professor Baker. “Dr. Baker is always very helpful in guiding the synthesis and providing feedback on ideas and problems encountered.” Moss said.

Born and raised in Cookeville, TN, Moss attended Cookeville High School before he joined UT in the Fall of 2010. He has been working in Baker’s lab since the first week of his freshman year. Prior to this research presentation, he also participated in the poster presentation at the National Collegiate Research Conference at Harvard University in Jan. 2012 and gave an Oral presentation at the Annual Undergraduate Research Conference at the University of Memphis in Feb. 2012. Most recently, he gave a presentation at U.T. in the 3rd Annual Honors Symposium.

Another winner, Britta Johnson presented her project entitled Dynamics of He Absorbates on Mg0(100) Surfaces, guided by Robert Hinde, Professor of Chemistry.

More about Britta Johnson